

# Fresno's Chaffee Zoo Corporation Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

# January 16, 2025 at 5:30 PM 894 W Belmont Ave, Fresno, CA 93728 – Zooplex Breakroom

| Director                | 1/16/25 |
|-------------------------|---------|
| Arelis Garcia           | Х       |
| Babatunde Ilori         | Х       |
| Christina Musson-Rendon | Х       |
| Emilia Reyes            |         |
| Ethan Smith             | Х       |
| Julie Vance             | Х       |
| Kyle Kirkland           | Х       |
| Oliver Baines           |         |
| Rion Morganstern        | Х       |
| Ross Parnagian          | Х       |
| Wilma Tom Hashimoto     | Х       |

## **Advisors Present**

Mr. Doug Larsen – Legal Counsel from Fishman, Larsen & Callister

Ms. Carlene Tinker – Outgoing Docent President

Ms. Karen Westersund – Incoming Docent President

#### **Zoo Staff Present**

Ms. Nora Crow – Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Jon Forrest Dohlin – Chief Executive Officer

Mr. Steven Gonzales-Warkentin - Chief of Staff

Ms. Lyn Myers – Chief Operations Officer

Ms. Nicole Presley – General Curator

Mr. Terry Skoda – Chief Advancement Officer

#### **Guest Speakers**

Ms. Natalie Ramirez – Jeffrey Scott Agency Mr. Kerry Sabbatini – Jeffrey Scott Agency



## 1. Call Meeting to Order and Roll Call

Mr. Kirkland called the meeting to order at 5:36 PM. Mr. Gonzales-Warkentin called the roll and established a quorum was present.

#### 2. Public Comment

Mr. Kirkland asked if any members of the public wished to offer comments to the Board. Hearing none, he proceeded with the agenda.

#### 3. Additions to the Agenda

Mr. Kirkland asked if any member of the Board had proposed additions to the published agenda. No member offered additional items for inclusion or consideration.

#### 4. Receive Introduction to 2025 Docent President

Ms. Carlene Tinker introduced the incoming Docent President, Karen Westersund, and gave a brief overview of the docent program.

#### 5. Receive 2025 Marketing Plan Presentation

Mr. Terry Skoda and guest speakers Ms. Natalie Ramirez and Mr. Kerry Sabbatini from the Jeffrey Scott Agency provided an in-depth look at the 2025 FCZC marketing plan. They reviewed the performance of social media platforms, ad shares, market data and various public relations collaborations with local news stations and influencers.

#### 6. Approve 2025 Board Officers

After discussion, Ms. Hashimoto made the motion to approve Kyle Kirkland as Board Chair, Babatunde Ilori as Vice Chair, Rion Morgenstern as Treasurer and Julie Vance as Secretary. Ms. Garcia seconded; the motion passed unanimously.

# 7. Approve Bylaws Committee Recommendation to move Nominating Committee to a Special Committee

Ms. Vance stated that the Bylaws Committee recommends moving the Nominating Committee to a Special Committee from a Standing Committee because the need to meet only occurs when a vacancy is present. After discussion, Mr. Morgenstern moved to approve this recommendation; Mr. Ilori seconded. The motion passed unanimously.



## 8. Approve 2025 Standing Committees

Mr. Kirkland stated that due to personal reasons Ms. Garcia asked to step down from the Finance and Audit Committees. Mr. Morgenstern suggested adding Mr. Baines to the Audit Committee, and Ms. Musson-Rendon volunteered to join the Finance Committee. After discussion, Ms. Vance made a motion to approve membership of the Standing Committees as follows:

<u>Audit Committee</u> Chair: Wilma Tom Hashimoto Members: Emilia Reyes, Ethan Smith, Kyle Kirkland, Oliver Baines and Public Member, Lisa Graham

<u>Finance Committee</u> Chair: Rion Morgenstern Members: Christina Musson-Rendon, Emilia Reyes, Kyle Kirkland, Ross Parnagian and Public Member, Rob Bell

The motion was seconded by Mr. Morgenstern and passed unanimously.

#### 9. Approve 2025 Special Committees

Mr. Dohlin stated that the Executive team recommended modifying the Development Special Committee to broaden its scope and become the Development and Marketing Committee. The Board had no objections to this suggestion, and Mr. Morgenstern requested to join the committee. After discussion, Ms. Hashimoto made a motion to approve membership within the Special Committees as follows:

<u>Bylaws Committee</u> Chair: Julie Vance Members: Ethan Smith, Oliver Baines, Wilma Tom Hashimoto

<u>Compensation Committee</u> Chair: Kyle Kirkland Members: Emilia Reyes, Rion Morgenstern and Ross Parnagian

<u>Development and Marketing Committee</u> Chair: Christina Musson-Rendon



Members: Babatunde Ilori, Ethan Smith, Oliver Baines, Rion Morgenstern, Jon Dohlin, Terry Skoda, Ferol Garcia, Karen Dorian and Mendy Laval.

<u>Nominating Committee</u> Chair: Babatunde Ilori Members: Christina Musson-Rendon, Julie Vance, Oliver Baines and Ross Parnagian

The motion was seconded by Mr. Parnagian and passed unanimously.

#### **10. Approve Minutes**

Mr. Kirkland asked if any member of the Board had additions or revisions to the draft minutes included in the Board Materials. Hearing none, Mr. Morgenstern made a motion to approve the November 21, 2024 minutes as presented; Ms. Musson-Rendon seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **11. Receive Chair Report**

Mr. Kirkland stated he had nothing to report.

#### **12. Receive CEO Report**

Mr. Dohlin gave a report on the current construction projects including the reclaimed water project and the maintenance facility project. He reported that the Zoo was in productive talks with the City of Fresno regarding the proposed parking structure.

#### **13. Final Comments**

With no final comments offered, Mr. Kirkland adjourned the meeting at 7:13 PM.